Beginning of Everything 

Admittedly, the main reason why this book got my attention is due to its cover. The rollercoaster was a curious thing to see in a book. I picked it up and after reading the comments decided to give it a try.

At times, I had regrets while reading – it may be the confusing references or things I could not really relate to (e.g., debate, various authors quoted, panopticon, etc). But I am glad I continued on since what I liked about this book are the emotions and interaction amongst the characters. There is a confused cheerleader, grieving sister, tentative mom, left out best friend, broken teen, ineffective teacher, and even an intelligent dog. Though not all elements were mapped and introduced, for me there was enough information to go around that allows me to relate to the characters.  It is always tricky to start at the middle of a story but this book for me was able to execute it well.

As usual, I am trying to stay away from spoilers. 

Did I enjoy this? Yes, especially on parts where I felt it did not venture towards being too intellectual. Would I read it again? Maybe but not anytime soon.

Favorite quotes:

“The way I figured it, keeping quiet was safe. Words could betray you if you chose the wrong ones, or mean less if you used too many.” – Ezra

“but I discovered a long time ago that the smarter you are, the more tempting it is to just let people imagine you. We move through each other’s lives like ghosts, leaving behind haunting memories of people who never existed. The popular jock. The mysterious new girl. But we’re the ones who choose, in the end, how people see us.” – Cassidy

And a few more quotes on growing up:

“I wondered what things became when you no longer needed them, and I wondered what the future would hold once we’d gotten past our personal tragedies and proven them ultimately survivable.” – Ezra

“But we had plenty of time for youthful indecision, both apart and together, for limping into the future past the unforgettable ash heaps of our histories.” – Ezra

Leave a Reply

