Secrets of the Universe

The latest book I finished is Benjamin Alire Saenz’ Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe.  I bought this book out of curiosity and due to the number of awards in the cover while in provincial fieldwork last December.  But, it was only in my trip to Korea a few weeks back that I found time to read it.  I finished it last week (April 24) during my downtime after participating in my 2nd clean-up dive.

This was too close to home.  I related a lot to Ari’s sentiments throughout the book that I sometimes had to put it down just to re-think his realizations. A lot of truth. A lot of maybes. A lot to think about.

“We all fight our own private wars.”   – Ari

Ari was growing up and faced with a lot of issues.  But more than the secrets of the universe, he discovers and comes to term with himself in the process.

“I don’t know Dante.  Sometimes, I think I’ll never understand myself.  I am not like you.  You know exactly who you are.” – Ari

Angst was throughout the book with love and patience from a friend and his parents as its antidote. It was amazing how his family came together in the end.

“You’re not alone, Ari.  I know it feels that way but you’re not.” – Ari’s mother

Love wins.

“Maybe everyone loves differently.  Maybe that’s all that matters” – Ari

I would probably read this book a second time.

 

Leave a Reply

